Educational structure

Higher education activities are carried out through academic and professional studies based on accredited study programs for obtaining higher education degrees in the three cycle model.

First cycle studies are:

Undergraduate academic studies
Undergraduate professional studies

Second cycle studies are:

Master academic studies
Specialist academic studies
Specialist professional studies

Third cycle studies are:

Doctoral academic studies

Academic studies are divided into the following categories:

Undergraduate academic studies – last for four years (worth at least 240ECTS) and after graduation a candidate is awarded a Bachelor of Honors degree in engineering in a particular field of studies.

Master academic studies – depending on the completed undergraduate study program, last for one year ( worth at least 60 ECTS), or 2 years (120 ECTS credits). Upon completion of the Master studies a student is awarded a Master’s degree in engineering or Master degree in Arts in particular field of studies.

Specialist academic studies – last for 1 year (at least 60 ECTS credits) or 1,5 year (worth 90 ECTS). Upon completion of the Specialist academic studies, a student is awarded a Specialist degree in the corresponding field.

Doctoral academic studies – last for 3 years and are worth at least 180 ECTS credits. After completing the doctoral academic studies a student is awarded a Doctoral degree in the particular field of studies.

Professional studies are organized as:

Undergraduate professional studies – last for 3 years (at least 180 ECTS credits). Students who complete these studies are awarded the degree of Bachelor degree in applied engineering in particular field of studies.

Specialist professional studies – last for 1 or 2 years and are worth at least 60 to 120 ECTS credits; a candidate is awarded a degree in applied engineering in particular field of studies – Specialist.

International practice oriented master’s studies (Second cycle studies)
– Master of Business Administration – MBA last for two years and are worth at least 120 ECTS; a candidate is awarded a Master degree in business

There are currently over 11,000 students enrolled at the Faculty of Technical Sciences. The Faculty is the first in this region that issued Diploma Supplement before signing Bologna Declaration. Since 2004 it has started issuing Diploma Supplement to students in Serbian and English, which has greatly facilitated mobility and employment of our students in Europe and worldwide. Diploma Supplement is a document that is merged with the Diploma of Higher Education, also published in Serbian and English, and was made to offer a description of the nature, level, context, content and status of studies that was attended and successfully completed by the student named in the original diploma, which this supplement incorporated.

On 23rd May 2008 Faculty of Technical Sciences received the Decision on the accreditation of the Faculty as a higher education institution. Until now, 88 study programs for academic and professional studies have been accredited.